Just Wanting to be Missed

Standard

Sometimes I just wish my friends from home would miss me. I don’t know, maybe they do but they sure don’t act like it. Most of them can’t spare two minutes to chat online and even when we set up Skype dates, they just blow them off. I don’t want to sound like I think everything is always about me…I don’t. It’s just that sometimes I have a hard time being so far away for so long–it would just be nice. Last semester I had a best friend study abroad in Ecuador. She didn’t enjoy it too much and I tried to always be there for her if she wanted someone to talk to/bitch to and I would try to let her know that I was thinking about her. I even do that now with my friends back home–and most of the time they don’t even respond. It just really sucks. I am having a good time here (I definitely need to start doing more) but I still miss home a lot. And most of all I miss my friends and family. I have friends here but it feels like freshman year–you make a lot of friends because everyone is in the same boat, all looking for friends and you’re not picky and when second semester comes around, you start to weed out the people that you aren’t actually friends with. Most of my friends from school I’ve had since freshman year but I don’t talk to half of them anymore. We just don’t have much in common. I feel like I’m starting to feel that way here–not that I have many options around here. My mom always says that you can do anything for four months–it’s one semester and I can handle anything for that small amount of time. I just miss home and my family and my friends–I just wish I was missed too.

One response »

Leave a Reply

